Thursday, 13 December 2018

porter smallThe Tidewater EMS Council created a new field coordinator position to support EMS education, performance improvement, mass casualty preparedness and other EMS programs in the counties of Southampton and Isle of Wight, and the city of Franklin.

Harvey “Jay” Porter, the Tidewater EMS Council’s former Education and Performance Improvement Coordinator, began serving as Field Coordinator – Western Tidewater part time beginning January 1, 2018.

He will work from a home office in Southampton County, but his contact information with the council remains the same. His email is This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and phone is 757-963-0632, or toll free 844-757-TEMS (8367), extension 305.

Porter is a Nationally Registered Paramedic, Virginia EMS Education Coordinator and holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in Health Sciences Administration. He has been employed by the council since 2007.

Specific duties of the Field Coordinator – Western Tidewater include:

  1. Provide a liaison between hospital pharmacies and EMS agencies to facilitate the IV and drug box exchange system.
  2. Support MCI preparedness activities, including education and exercises.
  3. Provide communication to and from personnel and agencies to help improve awareness of needs and to promote classes, events and EMS awards.
  4. Assist EMS agency leadership and operational medical directors to identify, address and resolve matters of mutual benefit.
  5. Provide or ensure availability of EMS continuing education classes and initial training courses.
  6. Provide performance improvement workshops and/or presentations at local agencies and in forums with multiple agencies, and support improvements in patient care, education, operations and equipment through a performance improvement program and technical assistance.
  7. Provide a point of contact for council business.

We expect Jay will provide some great services for Western Tidewater and look forward to supporting him in this new role.

Upcoming Events

OMD Committee Meeting - PEMS
Thu Dec 13 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Board of Directors - TEMS
Thu Dec 13 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Dec 18 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Dec 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
Office Closed - Christmas
Mon Dec 24 @12:00AM
Office Closed - Christmas
Tue Dec 25 @12:00AM
Office Closed - Christmas Holiday
Mon Dec 31 @12:00AM
Office Closed - New Year's Day
Tue Jan 01 @12:00AM
Office Closed - King Day
Mon Jan 21 @12:00AM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon Feb 04 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM

Upcoming Classes

Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Dec 18 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Dec 19 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Dec 20 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Consolidated Testing @ NFR 12/27/18
Thu Dec 27 @ 8:00AM - 02:00PM
Consolidated Testing @ NFR 01/23/19
Wed Jan 23 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
Tactical Emergency Casualty Care Course - Duty to Act
Sat Feb 09 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Feb 20 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Thu Feb 21 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Consolidated Testing @ NFR 03/27/2019
Wed Mar 27 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Apr 24 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Platinum Partner
www.nationalcprassociation.com