Wednesday, 18 July 2018

advisory boardNominations are being accepted for Weber Fund Advisory Board members.The Tidewater EMS Council's Board of Directors established the Kent J. Weber EMS Education and Research Fund in 2015 in honor the leadership and guidance of the council’s first executive director, long time board member and treasurer, Kent Jules Weber. More recently a Weber Fund Advisory Board was established to develop strategic advice and provide direction and support to the Board of Directors in all matters related to the Fund. 

The Weber Fund Advisory Board consists of 5 members: four community members and one representative of the TEMS Board of Directors. If you are someone you know would make a great community member of the Advisory Board please submit their name, a brief bio, and contact information to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. so that initial appointments to the Advisory Board can be considered on March 8, 2018 during the next TEMS Board of Directors meeting. Members will serve up to two 2-year terms.

Advisory Board responsibilities include developing Fund goals and usage guidelines, fundraising and oversight of any Fund-related activities and programs.

What type of individual will make a great community member of the Advisory Board? Consider these traits of a charitable board member:

• they are accomplished
• they are in an influential/respected position
• they have a history of, or the potential to, raise money
• they have an ability and propensity to give above average financially
• they have a passion for the cause
• they are eager to participate at every meeting (quarterly meetings are anticipated, perhaps more often in the beginning) and willing to prepare ahead for meetings
• they have a strong desire for stewardship
• they will be supportive, but willing to express their own opinion
• they will strive to learn as much as possible (including about the Fund and the needs of the EMS system)

The Weber Fund is currently seeded with about $60,000. Ideas for fund usage include supporting local EMS research projects, supporting initiatives that improve EMS data analysis, better educating the EMS educators, building EMS educator capacities, supporting a “resuscitation academy”, and offsetting the costs pf fire and EMS training. These ideas will be considered by the new Advisory Board and will be subject to change as the Board develops its recommendations.

Please direct questions to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Upcoming Events

Education and Training Committee
Wed Jul 25 @ 9:00AM - 01:00PM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon Aug 06 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Aug 08 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Office Closed - Labor Day
Mon Sep 03 @12:00AM
OMD Committee Meeting
Wed Sep 05 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Sep 11 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Sep 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
Office Closed - Columbus Day
Mon Oct 08 @12:00AM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Oct 10 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon Nov 05 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM

Upcoming Classes

Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 07/28/18
Sat Jul 28 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Aug 22 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Aug 23 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Sep 11 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
National Registry EMT Course
Wed Sep 12 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 09/29/2018
Sat Sep 29 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Tue Oct 23 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Oct 24 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Mass Casualty Incident Management - Module I
Sat Oct 27 @ 9:00AM - 02:00PM
Virginia Symposium
Wed Nov 07 @12:00AM
Platinum Partner
www.nationalcprassociation.com