Sunday, 24 June 2018

EMS Agencies, Field Personnel, and OMDs within the TEMS Region:

All manufacturers are currently experiencing supply issues related to shortages of injectable narcotic products. Shortages are related to manufacturing delays and product availability. These shortages are predicted to extend into 2019.

These shortages include morphine 10 mg/1 mL 10 mg vials and fentanyl 50 mcg/1 mL 100 mcg vials that are stocked in the Tidewater EMS Red medication boxes.

 Due to these shortages and with the approval of the regional medical director, Dr. Stewart Martin, we will be reducing the controlled medication inventory to the following levels as the boxes are exchanged:

  •          1 x morphine 10 mg/1 mL 10mg vial
  •          1 x fentanyl 50 mcg/ 1mL 100 mcg vial

We will NOT be removing these current drugs, but as morphine and/or fentanyl are used/expire we will only restock 1 vial each.   As always, boxes will need to be clearly labeled with anything missing. 

The pharmacy will place a sticker on the red medication box that states “Contains 1 morphine 10mg Vial” and/or “Contains 1 fentanyl 100 mcg Vial.”

This injectable opiate shortage is predicted to last through second quarter 2019. 

Upcoming Events

Office Closed - Independence Day
Wed Jul 04 @12:00AM
CISM Team Meeting
Tue Aug 07 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Aug 08 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Office Closed - Labor Day
Mon Sep 03 @12:00AM
OMD Committee Meeting
Wed Sep 05 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Sep 11 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Sep 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
Office Closed - Columbus Day
Mon Oct 08 @12:00AM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Oct 10 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon Nov 05 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM

Upcoming Classes

How to treat an exposed Radiated Patient
Wed Jun 27 @11:30AM - 02:00PM
EMT Instructor Network Meeting
Thu Jun 28 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
8 Hour Tactical EMS for First Responders
Sun Jul 08 @ 8:00AM - 04:00PM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 07/28/18
Sat Jul 28 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Aug 22 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Aug 23 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Sep 11 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 09/29/2018
Sat Sep 29 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Tue Oct 23 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Oct 24 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Platinum Partner
www.nationalcprassociation.com