Tuesday, 20 November 2018

A 2010 report by the National Commission on Children and Disasters identified a training gap for emergency responders, first receivers, and emergency management personnel that reduced the effectiveness in responding to pediatric patient’s and their unique needs/considerations. This course addresses pediatric emergency planning and response considerations through a combination of lectures, small group exercises, and a tabletop exercise. This is a planning not a clinical class. All students must register for a FEMA SID (student identification number). Students must bring a copy of their SID to class. Click on this link to register for your SID www.cdp.dhs.gov/femasid 

This training course is provided free of charge and is presented by the Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service National Emergency Response and Rescue Training Center (TEEX) www.teex.org/nerrtc 

 

Suggested Participants

  • Community and Hospital-based Emergency Managers
  • EMS Personnel
  • Hospital and Emergency Room Personnel
  • Public Safety/Public Health Personnel
  • School Administrators
  • Law Enforcement
  • Medical Reserve Corp Members
  • Disaster Response/relief personnel

Topics

  • Introduction to Pediatric Response
  • Emergency Management Considerations
  • Implications of Planning and Response
  • Functional Access Needs Considerations
  • Pediatric Reunification Considerations
  • Pediatric Decontamination Considerations

Continuing Educational Credits

IACT - 1.6 CEU's AAFP - 13.25 Hours ENA - 15.5 Hours TX-DHS-EMS 16.0 Hours

Conference Attendee hours are from 8:00am to 5:00pm daily. Lunch is provided to conference attendees at no cost.

Click here to register: https://goo.gl/wMBZQw

This program is being made available to you through collaboration between the Children’s Hospital of the King’s Daughters, The Eastern Virginia Medical School and the Eastern Virginia Healthcare Coalition

Upcoming Events

Office Closed - Thanksgiving Day
Thu Nov 22 @12:00AM
Office Closed - Thanksgiving Day
Fri Nov 23 @12:00AM
Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Nov 27 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Dec 12 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
OMD Committee Meeting
Thu Dec 13 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Dec 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
Office Closed - Christmas
Mon Dec 24 @12:00AM
Office Closed - Christmas
Tue Dec 25 @12:00AM
Office Closed - New Year's Day
Tue Jan 01 @12:00AM
Office Closed - King Day
Mon Jan 21 @12:00AM

Upcoming Classes

Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Nov 27 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
Pre Hospital Trauma Life Support (PHTLS) Hybrid
Sat Dec 08 @ 8:00AM - 04:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Dec 19 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Dec 19 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Dec 20 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Dec 20 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 01/23/19
Wed Jan 23 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Feb 20 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Thu Feb 21 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 03/30/19
Sat Mar 30 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
Platinum Partner
www.nationalcprassociation.com