Monday, 24 September 2018

A 2010 report by the National Commission on Children and Disasters identified a training gap for emergency responders, first receivers, and emergency management personnel that reduced the effectiveness in responding to pediatric patient’s and their unique needs/considerations. This course addresses pediatric emergency planning and response considerations through a combination of lectures, small group exercises, and a tabletop exercise. This is a planning not a clinical class. All students must register for a FEMA SID (student identification number). Students must bring a copy of their SID to class. Click on this link to register for your SID www.cdp.dhs.gov/femasid 

This training course is provided free of charge and is presented by the Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service National Emergency Response and Rescue Training Center (TEEX) www.teex.org/nerrtc 

 

Suggested Participants

  • Community and Hospital-based Emergency Managers
  • EMS Personnel
  • Hospital and Emergency Room Personnel
  • Public Safety/Public Health Personnel
  • School Administrators
  • Law Enforcement
  • Medical Reserve Corp Members
  • Disaster Response/relief personnel

Topics

  • Introduction to Pediatric Response
  • Emergency Management Considerations
  • Implications of Planning and Response
  • Functional Access Needs Considerations
  • Pediatric Reunification Considerations
  • Pediatric Decontamination Considerations

Continuing Educational Credits

IACT - 1.6 CEU's AAFP - 13.25 Hours ENA - 15.5 Hours TX-DHS-EMS 16.0 Hours

Conference Attendee hours are from 8:00am to 5:00pm daily. Lunch is provided to conference attendees at no cost.

Click here to register: https://goo.gl/wMBZQw

This program is being made available to you through collaboration between the Children’s Hospital of the King’s Daughters, The Eastern Virginia Medical School and the Eastern Virginia Healthcare Coalition

Upcoming Events

Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Oct 02 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
Office Closed - Columbus Day
Mon Oct 08 @12:00AM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Oct 10 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
STEMI PI Meeting
Thu Oct 11 @ 1:00PM - 02:00PM
Stroke PI Meeting
Thu Oct 11 @ 2:30PM - 03:30PM
CISM Team Meeting & Annual Awards
Mon Nov 05 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
Patient & Provider Safety PI Meeting
Thu Nov 08 @ 1:00PM - 02:00PM
Trauma/Triage PI Meeting
Thu Nov 08 @ 2:30PM - 03:30PM
Office Closed - Veterans’ Day
Mon Nov 12 @12:00AM
Office Closed - Thanksgiving Day
Thu Nov 22 @12:00AM

Upcoming Classes

Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 09/26/2018
Wed Sep 26 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
Pre Hospital Trauma Life Support
Sun Sep 30 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Oct 02 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Tue Oct 23 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Oct 24 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Mass Casualty Incident Management - Module I
Sat Oct 27 @ 9:00AM - 02:00PM
Tactical Emergency Casualty Care Course
Sun Oct 28 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
Virginia Symposium
Wed Nov 07 @12:00AM
Virginia Symposium
Thu Nov 08 @12:00AM
Virginia Symposium
Fri Nov 09 @12:00AM
Platinum Partner
www.nationalcprassociation.com