Sunday, 25 June 2017

Latest News

Tidewater EMS Council announces 2017 regional EMS award winners

winnersDuring a beautiful afternoon at Harbor Park in Norfolk on June 4, 2017, the Tidewater EMS Council presented eight regional EMS awards and a special lifetime achievement award. The awards presentation was part of the council's annual EMS family day at the ballpark attended by some 650 responders, dispatchers, emergency department staff and their families.

The council's highest award, the R. C. Dailey Award for Excellence in EMS, was presented to Bruce W. Edwards, retired EMS chief for the Virginia Beach Department of EMS. Edwards was praised for many "firsts" in his city, the region and in the state which included building and improving the largest volunteer rescue squad system in the country, serving multiple terms on the Tidewater EMS Council Board of Directors and its executive committee, serving multiple terms on the Virginia EMS Advisory Board and chair of its communications committee, and serving as the first EMS representative to the Virginia Board of Health and elected to serve as its chair.

Read more: Tidewater EMS Council announces 2017 regional EMS award winners

The heat is on!

goodsambeatheatEMS personnel cannot avoid exposure to the heat and humidity of Hampton Roads’ summers. Nor do we have much choice in the uniforms we wear. However, there are things you can do to reduce the effect of heat stress on your body and work performance.

Read more: The heat is on!

TEMS has surplus for sale and free

The Tidewater EMS Council periodically identifies surplus items and makes them available at extremely discounted prices or for free. All items are available first come, first serve. All items as is, no warranty and no return. Contact Tonya Cook This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 757 963-0632 for inspection and purchase.
 

Read more: TEMS has surplus for sale and free

Upcoming Events

CISM Team Meeting
Tue Aug 01 @ 6:00PM -
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Aug 09 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Critical Incident Stress Management Team Training
Sat Sep 09 @ 9:00AM - 12:00PM
Board of Directors - TEMS
Thu Sep 14 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Sep 20 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee & RSAF Grading - TEMS
Wed Oct 11 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon Nov 06 @ 6:00PM -
Joint PEMS & TEMS OMD Committee Meeting
Wed Dec 06 @12:00PM - 04:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Dec 13 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Board of Directors - TEMS
Thu Dec 14 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM

Upcoming Classes

Consolidated Testing @EVMS 06/27/2017
Tue Jun 27 @ 6:00PM -
Tactical Combat Casualty Care
Sat Jul 15 @ 8:00AM - 04:00PM
Tactical Combat Casualty Care
Sun Jul 16 @ 8:00AM - 04:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Aug 23 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Aug 24 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
Trauma Day with Lectures and Hands on Skills
Fri Aug 25 @ 8:30AM - 03:30PM
Trauma Day with Lectures and Hands on Skills
Sat Aug 26 @ 8:30AM - 03:30PM
Consolidated Testing @EVMS 08/29/2017
Tue Aug 29 @ 6:00PM -
Consolidated Testing @EVMS 09/26/2017
Tue Sep 26 @ 6:00PM -
Simualtion and Cadaver Lab
Sun Oct 01 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Platinum Partner
Gold Partner