Tuesday, 20 November 2018

Latest News

James “Jim” Chandler

JChandler

it is with deep personal regret that the TEMS Staff inform you that James “Jim” Chandler passed away earlier today. His death was sudden and unexpected, and the TEMS Staff asks that you pray for the Chandler family and his friends. We, the TEMS Staff, ask you to be respectful of the family’s privacy during this difficult time.

Read more: James “Jim” Chandler

Injectable Narcotic Shortages

EMS Agencies, Field Personnel, and OMDs within the TEMS Region:

All manufacturers are currently experiencing supply issues related to shortages of injectable narcotic products. Shortages are related to manufacturing delays and product availability. These shortages are predicted to extend into 2019.

These shortages include morphine 10 mg/1 mL 10 mg vials and fentanyl 50 mcg/1 mL 100 mcg vials that are stocked in the Tidewater EMS Red medication boxes.

Read more: Injectable Narcotic Shortages

Preparing for the unthinkable: Law enforcement, EMS team up for active shooter drill

Smithfield — The halls and church areas of Harvest Fellowship Baptist Church were filled with students and church members, Saturday 4/28/18 as they got ready for an active shooter training drill session.

ASE 2

Yet in a matter of moments, chaos broke out around 13:00 when the Isle of Wight Volunteer Rescue and area responders took part in an extensive active shooter drill.

 The drill simulated a shooter coming onto the premises and opening fire on the church in session, leaving mass destruction in his path.

Read more: Preparing for the unthinkable: Law enforcement, EMS team up for active shooter drill

Education and research fund board seeks members

advisory boardNominations are being accepted for Weber Fund Advisory Board members.The Tidewater EMS Council's Board of Directors established the Kent J. Weber EMS Education and Research Fund in 2015 in honor the leadership and guidance of the council’s first executive director, long time board member and treasurer, Kent Jules Weber. More recently a Weber Fund Advisory Board was established to develop strategic advice and provide direction and support to the Board of Directors in all matters related to the Fund. 

Read more: Education and research fund board seeks members

Upcoming Events

Office Closed - Thanksgiving Day
Thu Nov 22 @12:00AM
Office Closed - Thanksgiving Day
Fri Nov 23 @12:00AM
Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Nov 27 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Dec 12 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
OMD Committee Meeting
Thu Dec 13 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Dec 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
Office Closed - Christmas
Mon Dec 24 @12:00AM
Office Closed - Christmas
Tue Dec 25 @12:00AM
Office Closed - New Year's Day
Tue Jan 01 @12:00AM
Office Closed - King Day
Mon Jan 21 @12:00AM

Upcoming Classes

Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Nov 27 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
Pre Hospital Trauma Life Support (PHTLS) Hybrid
Sat Dec 08 @ 8:00AM - 04:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Dec 19 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Dec 19 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Dec 20 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Dec 20 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 01/23/19
Wed Jan 23 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Feb 20 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Thu Feb 21 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 03/30/19
Sat Mar 30 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
Platinum Partner
www.nationalcprassociation.com