Thursday, 21 March 2019

Main Navigation

Latest News

CHKD Level 1 Trauma Designation Update

The Virginia Department of Health office of EMS completed its final review of CHKD’s trauma services on July 24, 2018. The review team consisted of six surveyors who met with staff, physicians, and leadership of various departments. The team reviewed patient charts, trauma policies, guidelines, and performance improvement processes for trauma services. The surveyors were impressed by the improvements made in our trauma readiness, prompt patient assessment, stabilization of injured patients, and emergency operations. Throughout their visit, all CHKD staff demonstrated their commitment to providing quality trauma care for our pediatric patients and families. 

Read more: CHKD Level 1 Trauma Designation Update

Safety Alert - Epi

SAFETY ALERT- Epinephrine Labeling Changes- Removal of Ratios (no change in the drug product, just labeling)
This is a reminder of a change that was made in June of 2017 but is beginning to be seen in the field now.
Please remind your providers that this change has occurred. 

Read more: Safety Alert - Epi

James “Jim” Chandler

JChandler

it is with deep personal regret that the TEMS Staff inform you that James “Jim” Chandler passed away earlier today. His death was sudden and unexpected, and the TEMS Staff asks that you pray for the Chandler family and his friends. We, the TEMS Staff, ask you to be respectful of the family’s privacy during this difficult time.

Read more: James “Jim” Chandler

Preparing for the unthinkable: Law enforcement, EMS team up for active shooter drill

Smithfield — The halls and church areas of Harvest Fellowship Baptist Church were filled with students and church members, Saturday 4/28/18 as they got ready for an active shooter training drill session.

ASE 2

Yet in a matter of moments, chaos broke out around 13:00 when the Isle of Wight Volunteer Rescue and area responders took part in an extensive active shooter drill.

 The drill simulated a shooter coming onto the premises and opening fire on the church in session, leaving mass destruction in his path.

Read more: Preparing for the unthinkable: Law enforcement, EMS team up for active shooter drill

Upcoming Events

EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Apr 10 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon May 06 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
Office Closed - Memorial Day
Mon May 27 @12:00AM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Jun 12 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Board Of Directors Meeting
Thu Jun 13 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Jun 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
Office Closed - Independence Day
Thu Jul 04 @12:00AM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon Aug 05 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Aug 14 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Office Closed - Labor Day
Mon Sep 02 @12:00AM

Upcoming Classes

Tactical Emergency Casualty Care Course - Duty to Act
Sun Mar 24 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
CANCELLED -Consolidated Testing @ NFR 03/27/2019
Wed Mar 27 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Apr 24 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Apr 25 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Full ACLS Course
Sat Apr 27 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Full ACLS Course
Sun Apr 28 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Registration - 2019 Tidewater EMS / Nursing Expo
Thu May 02 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Registration - 2019 Tidewater EMS / Nursing Expo
Fri May 03 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Registration - 2019 Tidewater EMS / Nursing Expo
Sat May 04 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Registration - 2019 Tidewater EMS / Nursing Expo
Sun May 05 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM

Platinum Partner

Gold Partner

Silver Partner
nationalcprassociation
www.nationalcprassociation.com