Friday, 25 May 2018

Latest News

STEMI Accelerator Project improves cardiac outcomes – but there’s more to do

Heart attackDuring the past several years the Tidewater EMS region and many places across the nation have worked to improve the outcome of patients experiencing ST-elevation myocardial infarction, or STEMI. Hospitals and emergency medical systems are organizing coordinated regional plans for STEMI diagnosis and rapid reperfusion. The work is being done through heart attack coalitions, and in our region the Eastern Virginia Heart Attack Coalition has achieved amazing success.

Read more: STEMI Accelerator Project improves cardiac outcomes – but there’s more to do

EMS can impact human trafficking

Human TraffickingThere are nearly 30 million victims of forced labor and human trafficking in a $150 billion industry globally. Unfortunately, the Hampton Roads region isn’t exempt from this activity. The Chesapeake Fire Department has focused on the issue of human trafficking. Their goals, and perhaps the goals that your EMS agency and fire department might set as well, are:
• To be cognizant of the subversive culture of sex and labor slavery and its existence in Hampton Roads
• To be mindful that this culture involves extremely dangerous criminals and horrendously victimized human beings
• To act as an organization in a manner that denies safe harbor for sex and labor criminal systems.

Read more: EMS can impact human trafficking

Upcoming Events

Office Closed Memorial Day
Mon May 28 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Jun 05 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
OMD Committee Meeting
Tue Jun 05 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Jun 13 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
2018 Regional Awards Presentation - Register below
Thu Jun 14 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Jun 20 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
CISM Team Meeting
Tue Aug 07 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Aug 08 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
OMD Committee Meeting
Wed Sep 05 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Sep 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM

Upcoming Classes

BASIC LIFE SUPPORT
Wed May 30 @ 9:30AM - 01:30PM
ACLS UPDATE
Thu May 31 @ 9:30AM - 04:00PM
Advanced Medical Life Support
Sat Jun 02 @ 8:00AM - 04:00PM
Advanced Medical Life Support
Sun Jun 03 @ 8:00AM - 04:00PM
Suffolk Fire Rescue CEU Blitz
Mon Jun 04 @ 9:30AM - 04:30PM
Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Jun 05 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
Suffolk Fire Rescue CEU Blitz
Tue Jun 05 @ 9:30AM - 04:30PM
Suffolk Fire Rescue CEU Blitz
Wed Jun 06 @ 9:30AM - 04:30PM
Suffolk Fire Rescue CEU Blitz
Thu Jun 07 @ 9:30AM - 04:30PM
Suffolk Fire Rescue CEU Blitz
Fri Jun 08 @ 9:30AM - 04:30PM
Platinum Partner
www.nationalcprassociation.com