Friday, 24 May 2019

Main Navigation

Latest News

Rotary honors Portsmouth firefighters

Portsmouth Rotary Awards 1 13 17On Thursday, January 13, 2017 the Rotary Club of Portsmouth held their 16th Annual Portsmouth Public Safety Personnel Awards luncheon. Two of this year’s honorees are Master Firefighter/Paramedic Emil Majetich and Firefighter/Advanced EMT Reginald Bolton. Both were recognized for their outstanding performance of duties and dedication to the citizens of the City of Portsmouth.

Read more: Rotary honors Portsmouth firefighters

Board fills key vacancies

Boardroom chairs

The Tidewater EMS Council Board of Directors elected several new directors and filled key vacancies during its quarterly meeting on December 8, 2016. Wayne E. Shank was elected treasurer, W. Travis Kirby and Dennis J. Keane were elected to the board, and Janice E. McKay and Jeffrey J. Meyer were elected to the executive committee.

Read more: Board fills key vacancies

2016 Annual Report Features TEMS Program Accomplishments

The Tidewater EMS Council’s 2016 annual report highlights the accomplishments of the council’s programs during the past year. The report summarizes the work of the Tidewater EMS program, the Hampton Roads Metropolitan Medical Response System, the Eastern Virginia Healthcare Coalition and the Tidewater Center for Life Support Training. The report also includes the council’s leadership and financial statements. pdf Download the report (894 KB) .

Opioid Addiction Crisis Declared a Public Health Emergency in Virginia

Governor Terry McAuliffe today (11/21/2016) announced that State Health Commissioner Marissa J. Levine, MD, MPH, FAAFP, has declared the Virginia opioid addiction crisis a Public Health Emergency.

This declaration comes in response to the growing number of overdoses attributed to opioid use, and evidence that Carfentanil, a highly dangerous synthetic opioid used to sedate large animals such as elephants, has made its way its way into Virginia. A Public Health Emergency is an event, either natural or manmade, that creates a health risk to the public.

Read more: Opioid Addiction Crisis Declared a Public Health Emergency in Virginia

Upcoming Events

Office Closed - Memorial Day
Mon May 27 @12:00AM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Jun 12 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Board Of Directors Meeting
Thu Jun 13 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Jun 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
Office Closed - Independence Day
Thu Jul 04 @12:00AM
Office Closed - Independence Day
Fri Jul 05 @12:00AM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon Aug 05 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Aug 14 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Office Closed - Labor Day
Mon Sep 02 @12:00AM
Board Of Directors Meeting
Thu Sep 05 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM

Upcoming Classes

Advanced Cardiac Lifes Support
Sat Jun 08 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Advanced Cardiac Lifes Support
Sun Jun 09 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Jun 26 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Thu Jun 27 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 07/24/2019
Wed Jul 24 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 07/27/19
Sat Jul 27 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 07/27/2019
Sat Jul 27 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 07/27/2019
Sat Jul 27 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Aug 28 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Aug 29 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM

Platinum Partner

Platinum Partner

Gold Partner

Silver Partner
Silver Partner
nationalcprassociation
www.nationalcprassociation.com